About Us

Executive Committee

List of the Executive Committee members

Johnson, Ching-Yin Yeung

5_6116310368995246114Johnson, Ching-Yin Yeung is a Hong Konger, human right advocate, chairperson of the Hong Kong Civil Hub. He was the convenor of Civil Human Rights Front, Deputy-General of Hong Kong Federation of Student, and a fellow at the World Movement for Democracy. Graduated from LL.M. Human Rights at HKU, he concerns about improving civil society resilience under shrinking civic space, and to build alignment with international communities facing similar situation. He is in the leadership team of the Civic Charter, and a member of the Network of Young Democratic Asians. His experiences in organizing the student movement and the Umbrella Movement convince him that daily practice of democracy and institution building is equally important.

Joshua Wong


Joshua Wong is a Hong Kong student activist and politician who serves as secretary-general of pro-democracy party Demosistō. Wong was previously convenor and founder of student activist group Scholarism. Internationally known for his prominent role during the 2014 Umbrella Movement, he was convicted and jailed for six months for it on August 2017. His major influence on Hong Kong’s pro-democracy movement resulted in his inclusion in TIME magazine’s Most Influential Teens of 2014 and nomination for its Person of the Year 2014, recognition by Fortune magazine as one of the world’s greatest leaders in 2015, and, in 2017, plans for nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Lee Cheuk Yan

LEE_photo_1Lee Cheuk Yan was a former member of the Legislative Council of Hong Kong since 1995, representing the New Territories West constituency for over 20 years. Lee Cheuk Yan started his social activism as a labour organizer since he graduated from the University of Hong Kong with a degree in Civil Engineering. He worked for the Hong Kong Christian Industrial Committee since 1980 and in 1990 helped founded the Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions, the independent Union Center in Hong Kong

and is its General Secretary. He was elected as Legislative Councillor since 1995 and held its seat till 2016. Together with three Legislators, he founded the Labour Party in 2011, and is now the Vice Chairman of the Labour Party. He is also the Secretary of the Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movements in China. Most recently, he is the co-founder of the Institute of Labour and Social Policy together with academics and trade unions.